«                                »

John Cage and Friends

    at St Luke's Chelsea

    with St Peter’s Contemporary Music Happening

© Can Stock Photo / Dusan
Per Nørgård: Wie ein Kind
James MacMillan: Changed
James MacMillan: The Rising Moon
Jonathan Harvey: I love the Lord
Jonathan Harvey: The dove descending
John Cage: Four2
Eric Whitacre: Cloudburst
Orchestral works:
John Cage: Solo for Sliding Trombone
Jacques Delécluse: Étude no. 9 pour Caisse-Claire
SPCMH: Dada collage
Robert White & Joseph Kosma: Gloria tibi Trinitas – In nomine – Arbores autumnales
Georges Aperghis: Récitations op. 46, no. 8
Pascal Zavaro: Kino-Klap
La Monte Young: Piano Piece for David Tudor no. 3

Read more
The Elysian Singers are delighted to be collaborating with St Peter’s Contemporary Music Happening and their director Jeremy Summerly in presenting a kaleidoscope of 20th and 21st century instrumental and choral music, ranging from the frankly whacky to the truly sublime. Highlights are instrumental and choral works by the visionary American pioneer John Cage, and other experimental works from the post-modern and minimalist world. The Elysians will explore the disturbed world of Adolf Wölfli through the music of Denmark’s leading composer, Per Nørgård, and present the beautiful sounds of Jonathan Harvey and James MacMillan before SPCMH join them in Eric Whitacre’s wonderfully evocative ‘Cloudburst’.