Event Category: Forthcoming

Stars, moons, birds and aeroplanes

Tickets £15 (concessions £10) available in advance via Eventbrite

Jonathan Dove: Seek him that maketh the seven stars
Ēriks Ešenvalds: Stars
Ēriks Ešenvalds: The Heavens’ Flock
Eric Whitacre: Leonardo dreams of his flying machine
Ralph Vaughan Williams: A Vision of Aeroplanes
Alan Bullard: Choristers of Flight
Ēriks Ešenvalds: The New Moon
Ēriks Ešenvalds: Northern Lights
Ēriks Ešenvalds: Rivers of Light
Jonathan Dove: Vast ocean of light

Read more
As one of our greatest songwriters wrote, ‘Open your eyes, look up to the skies and see’. Many composers have followed that advice over the last 70 years in the field of choral music, producing a succession of works inspired by what they have found. Whether it is the stars or the northern lights, aeroplanes or birds, the moon or the sun, English composers from Vaughan Williams to Alan Bullard and Jonathan Dove, the Latvian Ēriks Ešenvalds, and the American Eric Whitacre, have been moved to set a wonderful variety of texts: including poetry by Sara Teasdale, Thomas Hardy, Gerard Manley Hopkins and Robert Bridges, words from the Bible, and even the diaries of the great explorer Fridtjof Nansen.